About the TCRN

The Translational Cancer Research Network ("TCRN"): the translational cancer research centre of South Eastern Sydney and Illawarra NSW as well as the Albury-Wodonga region is a collaborative, interactive cancer research network that is funded by the Cancer Institute of NSW ("CINSW") and based at the Lowy Cancer Research Centre, UNSW Australia. 

The TCRN which was launched in 2011, under founding Director Professor Robyn Ward, fund research programs and fosters links between cancer researchers, clinicians and services in New South Wales.

Led by Director Professor David Goldstein, the TCRN's overarching research strategy is to leverage the synergy of combining multiple disciplines and Institutions to solve the problems that patients with cancer face at all stages of their cancer journey.

The TCRN brings together researchers and clinicians from member organisations across our founding institutions in NSW with the purpose of facilitating the rapid translation of scientific discoveries into clinical policy and practice to improve patient outcomes. 

The TCRN comprises the founding institutions of UNSW Australia, Prince of Wales Hospital, the comprehensive cancer centres of St George and Sutherland hospitals, cancer services at the Royal Hospital for Women, Border Medical Oncology Research Unit (Albury-Wodonga) and the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and operates in collaboration with the South Eastern Sydney Local Health District (SESLHD).

Our network is built on a membership base of leading researchers and clinicians who share the common goal of translating cutting-edge cancer research into enhanced patient outcomes.

TCRN 2016-2021

CINSW TCRN Grant 2016-2021 Chief Investigators:




TCRN Flagships

The TCRN 2016-2021 research program includes five flagships which will lead the way in addressing our cancer research themes.

1. Hereditary Cancer - Flagship Leader; Dr Kathy Tucker

2. Clinical Improvements into Care - Flagship Leader; Prof David Goldstein

  • Haematological Malignancies & Thrombosis - Associate Professor John Pimanda
  • Surgical Quality Improvements - Professor Phil Crowe
  • Multidisciplinary Care Groups - Associate Professor Winston Liauw & Associate Professor Amany Zekry

3. Continuum of Care (Community-Hospital Practice) - Flagship Leader; Professor Mark Harris

4. Biobanking and Bioinformatics - Flagship Leader; Associate Professor Rob Lindeman

5. 2025 Cancer Workforce & Capacity - Flagship Leader; Professor Jane Phillips & Associate Professor John Pimanda